How to end Canada's Nobel science drought? Invest

Ce contenu est disponible en anglais seulement.

Contributed by Indira Samarasekera to the Globe and Mail, le 8 sep, 2014

Indira V. Samarasekera is president and vice-chancellor of the University of Alberta.

It’s been 20 years since a scientist working in Canada has been awarded a Nobel Prize in science. Bertram Brockhouse received the Nobel Prize in physics in 1994, Michael Smith in chemistry in 1993, and John Polanyi in chemistry in 1986.

Nobel Prizes are the most recognizable symbols of scientific excellence. Does this long drought suggest that Canada is losing global competitiveness at the frontiers of science?