The Diversity of Ontario's Universities: A Data Set to Inform the Differentiation Discussion

Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario (HEQCO), Jul 23, 2013

A new report from the Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario (HEQCO) finds that the province’s 20 universities could be organized into at least three distinct clusters based on a set of variables that other jurisdictions have used to differentiate their university systems, setting the stage for a more coherent, diversified and sustainable system.  But for this differentiation framework to be effective, the roles, rights and responsibilities of universities in each of the clusters needs to be identified and the  government would need to align those decisions to funding.