New chair named for U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities

OTTAWA, ON (August 29, 2016) — The U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities has named Guy Breton, Rector of the Université de Montréal, as its new Chair.  He will serve a fixed two-year term.

Breton, who has held his position as rector since 2010, assumes the leadership role from outgoing U15 Chair Feridun Hamdullahpur, University of Waterloo’s President and Vice-Chancellor.

“It is an honour to assume The U15 chair at such an exciting time for research universities,” Breton said. “I look forward to engaging with our federal government as it pursues its Innovation Agenda and other issues of great importance to raise Canada’s prosperity and it’s international profile as an open and innovative country.”

Breton praised the excellent work his predecessor and The U15 team have done in establishing the organization.

“Ensuring that our research universities fulfill their potential as world-class drivers of innovation and talent will be crucial if Canada is to build the innovative, knowledge-based economy we need for the future prosperity of all Canadians,” he added.

Since its establishment in the mid-1980s, The U15 has grown to include the leading research-intensive universities from across Canada. Its members foster world-class scholarship that shapes and achieves Canadian and global public policy goals, informs industry partnerships, fosters social, cultural, economic and environmental innovation, and advances Canada’s international influence and effectiveness.

“On behalf of the Government of Canada, I would like to welcome Guy Breton as the new chair of the U-15,” said the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science. “I look forward to working with Dr. Breton as our government moves forward on a number of important initiatives, including the Fundamental Science Review and the Innovation Agenda. I would like to thank outgoing Chair Feridun Hamdullahpur for his dedication to science, research and education and his contributions to advancing excellence and innovation in Canada.”

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science, and Economic Development also offered congratulations, saying: “Canada’s research universities are major hubs of ideas and innovation. As the incoming chair of the U15, Guy Breton has the opportunity to be a strong voice for the country’s research and higher-education community. I look forward to collaborating with Dr. Breton and U15 as our Government works to make Canada a global centre for innovation – one that is a world leader in promoting research, translating ideas into new products and services and accelerating business growth. I also want to express my deepest gratitude to Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur, U-15’s outgoing chair. Thanks to his dedication in promoting research excellence, this country is well-positioned in our ongoing mission to make Canada a destination of choice for the best and brightest minds from around the world.”

– 30 –


Statements & Releases

December 22, 2016
Upon the announcement of his retirement, The U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities thanks Dr. Alain Beaudet for his years of public service and his [...]
December 15, 2016
After learning of the death of David Strangway, Guy Breton, the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities’ Chair and Rector, Université de Montréal, made the [...]
December 5, 2016
Ottawa, ON (Dec 5, 2016) – The U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities warmly welcomes Minister Kirsty Duncan’s announcement today of the search process for a [...]