U15 Welcomes AEARU into new global network of leading research universities

Ottawa - The U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities officially welcomes the Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) into a new global network of leading research universities. 

The AEARU and its 17 member institutions now join the Association of American Universities (AAU), the Consortium of China 9 Research Universities (C9), the Group of Eight Australia (Go8), the League of European Research Universities (LERU), the Russell Group of 24 UK institutions, and the U15 as members of this new network.

 “We are honoured that the AEARU has joined us, after signing the Hefei Statement,” says U15 Executive Director Suzanne Corbeil. “We look forward to working with President Chen Jun of Nanjing University, the Chairperson of the AEARU, and his colleagues, on global issues relevant to our respective institutions.  The experience, perspective and reputation that the AEARU and its members bring to the table will add important insight and perspective to our future discussions.”

The Hefei Statement, which four international research university associations issued at their meeting in Hefei, China, on October 10, 2013, consists of the 10 important characteristics that identify contemporary research universities.