U15 Congratulates Dr. Arthur B. McDonald for his 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics

U15 Statement on the 2015 Nobel Physics Recipients

OTTAWA, ON (October 6, 2015) As Chair of the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities, I would like to congratulate Dr. Arthur B. McDonald and Dr. Takaaki Kajita for their joint award of the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Dr. McDonald was instrumental in helping to establish the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNOLAB) as one of the world’s premier physics research facilities. He served as Director, Associate Director, and as an affiliated researcher at the observatory. His work in unravelling the mysteries surrounding the mass of neutrinos increases our understanding of the structure of the universe.

On behalf of my colleagues, I applaud the Nobel Committee for their recognition of the groundbreaking research that Dr. McDonald has undertaken. His career has been driven by his pursuit of excellence. His example, and his accomplishments, will inspire Canadian researchers from coast to coast to coast who strive to generate discoveries in their respective scientific fields that advance our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.  

Dr. Feridun Hamdullahpur is Chair of the U15-Group of the Canadian Research Universities and President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Waterloo.